SB Steering Committee
  • Prof. Wong Tien Yin

    Deputy Group CEO, Research and Education, Singhealth

    Medical Director, Singapore National Eye Centre

    Academic Chair, SingHealth Duke-NUS Opthalmology and Visual Sciences Academic Clinical Programme

  • Prof. London Lucien Ooi

    Professor & Associate Dean, Admissions, Recruitment and Financial Aid, Duke-NUS

    Clinical Faculty, Singhealth Duke-NUS Surgery Academic Clinical Programme

    Senior Consultant, HPB & Transplant Surgery, SGH

  • Prof. Paul Yock

    Director, Stanford Biodesign

    Paul Yock is the Martha Meier Weiland Professor of Medicine and Mechanical Engineering (by courtesy) and Founding Co-Chair of Stanford’s Department of Bioengineering. 

    Dr. Yock is internationally known for his work in inventing, developing and testing new devices, including the Rapid Exchange ™ balloon angioplasty system, which is now the primary system in use worldwide. He also invented a Doppler-guided access system known as the Smart Needle™ and PD-Access™. The main focus of Dr. Yock’s research program has been in the field of intravascular ultrasound. He authored the fundamental patents for mechanical intravascular ultrasound imaging and helped conduct the initial clinical trials. In 1986 he founded Cardiovascular Imaging Systems, which was acquired by Boston Scientific in 1994. Dr. Yock has cofounded several other medical technology companies. 

    In his academic career, Dr. Yock has authored over 300 peer-reviewed publications, chapters and editorials, a textbook and over 45 US patents. Recent awards include the Transcatheter Therapeutics (TCT) Career Achievement Award, the American College of Cardiology Distinguished Scientist Award and an honorary doctorate from Amherst College. Dr. Yock is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Current research interests of Dr. Yock’s group at Stanford focus on development and testing of catheter-based delivery systems for cardiac cell transplantation and new catheter and molecular imaging techniques for cardiology. Dr. Yock also founded and directs the Program in Biodesign, a unit of Stanford’s Bio-X initiative that focuses on invention and technology transfer related to biomedical engineering.

  • Mr. Fredrik Nyberg

    Managing Director, Asia Pacific, MedTech Innovator

  • Mr. Jean-Luc Butel

    Global Health Advisor, K8 Global

  • Prof. Tan Sze Wee

    Executive Director, Science and Engineering Council (SERC), A*STAR

    Prof Tan Sze Wee, is currently the Executive Director of A*STAR’s Science and Engineering Council (SERC).

    Prof Tan’s career in A*STAR began in 2009, where he held the appointment of Programme Director of the Medical Technology initiative in SERC. His next appointment was as Director of SERC’s Strategic Initiatives, where he oversaw all SERC cluster-led R&D development. He also provided leadership for SERC’s cross-cutting programmes such as the Thematic Research Programme and the Joint Laboratories programme with the local universities and concurrently spearheaded the Healthcare and Lifestyle (H&L) Programme in A*STAR.

    In October 2012, Prof Tan was promoted to Deputy Executive Director in the Biomedical Research Council (BMRC). His experience with the SERC RIs enabled BMRC to engage companies in these industry sectors holistically, cross-promoting the multi-disciplinary capabilities available at both Councils to meet the needs of companies. He helped to pave the way for growth of A*STAR’s engagements with companies in the Food & Nutrition, Medical Technology and Consumer Care sectors with leading MNCs like GE Healthcare, Nestle, Coca Cola and P&G.

    Prof Tan is Adjunct Professor at Nanyang Technological University’s School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering and Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, as well as an Adjunct Associate Professor at Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School Singapore. He is also Chairman of the Singapore Stanford Biodesign Steering Committee, and member of the steering committee of Rehabilitation Research Institute of Singapore.

    Prof Tan was formerly the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Rockeby Biomed Limited. Prior to joining Rockeby, he was the Asia-Pacific Associate Regional Medical Director (Asia Regional Office) for Mead Johnson Nutritionals, a division of Bristol-Myers Squibb Company from 1997 to 2001.

    Prof Tan was a former Nominated Member of Parliament of Singapore.

  • Dr. Danny Soon

    Senior Director, HBM, BMRC, A*STAR

    Programme Director, Singapore Biodesign, A*STAR

  • Mr. Johnny Teo

    Director, Health & Biomedical Sciences, EnterpriseSG