Thought Leaders Series

What is the Thought Leaders Series?

The Thought Leaders Series (TLS) is an annual signature event hosted by SB to highlight the importance of needs-driven innovation with an added focus on Asia. Since its inauguration, we have had the great honour of inviting international key opinion leaders to educate the Singapore community on the latest industry insights and market trends in medical technology development. Through an ‘in-conversation’ styled forum, the distinguished speakers illuminate international perspectives on the challenges and future of the medical technology industry.

Upcoming TLS and registration
  • Date: 7th October 2019, Monday
    Time: 2:00pm - 5:30pm (SGT) (Registration starts at 1:30pm)
    Event Venue: Suntec Singapore Convention & Exhibition Center, Room 300-301

    For more information, please Click here to find out.
Past Thought Leaders
Year Subject Speaker
2018 Diabetes Sandbox: Interface between Medical Technology and Digital Health

Keynote Speaker:
Mr. Michael Kloss, CEO, Ascensia Diabetes Care

Mr. Fredrik Nyberg, CEO, APACMed


  • Dr. Bee Yong Mong, Head, SingHealth Duke-NUS Diabetes Centre
  • Dr. David Klonoff, Chairman, Diabetes Technology Society, US; Medical Director, Diabetes Research Institute Mills-Peninsusla Medical Center
  • Mr. Linus Tham, Group Chief Information Officer, Parkway Pantai Limited

Find out more by clicking here

2015 MedTech Innovations Ecosystem: What can Asia learn and adapt from Silicon Valley?
  • Keynote Speaker:
    Prof Paul Yock, Executive Director, Stanford Biodesign

  • Panelist:
    • A/Prof Tan Sze Wee, Deputy Executive Director, BMRC, A*STAR
    • Dr. John Collins, COO, Center for Integration of Medicine and Innovation Technology
    • Prof Sun Kyung, Chair, Osong Medical Innovation Foundation, Professor, Korea University College of Medicine
    • Dr. Fumiaki Ikeno, Programme Director (US), Japan Biodesign, Stanford University
    • Mr. Lu Yoh-Chie, Chairman, Biosensors International

  • Moderator:
    • Dr. Chris Shen, Executive Director (US), Singapore-Stanford Biodesign, Managing Director, Vertex Ventures Healthcare
    • Mr. Peh Ruey Feng, Programme Director, Singapore-Stanford Biodesign, CEO and Founder, Advent Access Pte Ltd
2013 Innovation in Surgical Robotics
  • Dr. Frederic Moll, CEO, Auris Robotic Surgery, Founder, Intuitive Surgical Inc.
  • A/Prof. Louis Phee, Head, School of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, NTU, Co-founder, Endomaster Pte Ltd
  • Prof. Christopher Cheng, Senior Consultant, Urology, Singapore General Hospital, Pro-term CEO, Sengkang General Hospital
2011 Medical Technology Innovation: East Meets West
  • Dr. Thomas Fogarty, M.D, Fogarty Institute for Innovation
  • Mr. Lu Yoh-Chie, Chairman, Biosensors International

Videos on Past Thought Leaders Series